1721 Amador Avenue
This home was built in 1856 for Don Francisco Galindo and his wife, Maria Dolores Manuela (Pacheco) Galindo, Don Salvio’s second daughter. At that time, it was one of the few Victorian ranch houses in the county. As their oldest son, Juan “John” Galindo and his bride Marina “Sarah” (Amador) Galindo took up residence between 1875 and 1880, the original six-room house was expanded to ten rooms. After Juan and Marina’s eldest child Frederick, and Catherine (Hittman) Galindo were married in 1907, title was transfered to this next generation. Following Mrs. Catherine Galindo’s death in 1966, the home was maintained by her children. After the death of Ms. Ruth Galindo in 1999, the home became the property of the City of Concord. In 2010 ownership was transferred to the Concord Historical Society, which began a two-plus year project restoring the home and returning all the Galindo family furnishings to the family home. This gem is open regularly for tours.